Publication Launch: Community-led Development for Climate Justice

Wednesday 18th November 2020, 10:00 (Dublin UTC) / 11:00 (Brussels UTC+1) / 11:45(Dublin UTC) / 12:45 (Brussels UTC+1)

The publication ‘The People’s Transition: Community-led development for Climate Justice’ is the end result of a joint research, engagement and policy-modelling project undertaken by FEPS and TASC for over a year.

The People’s Transition develops a bottom-up, people-centred climate policy making approach called Community-led Sustainable Development (CLSD).

The work analyses the needs of communities who are transitioning at a significant rate, together with needs of the wider society and considers the political and socio-cultural contexts in which they stand.

Perhaps the greatest challenge facing European leaders over the coming decade will be to implement transformative climate action in such a way that it benefits from enduring public support and achieves its long-term objectives without strife, disruption or delay.

Speakers:

  • Mary Robinson, Former President of Ireland, former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (confirmed)
  • Diederik Samsom, Head of cabinet of the Executive Vice-President of the European Commission in charge of the European Green Deal (confirmed)
  • Holly Cairns, MP Ireland (confirmed)
  • Sean McCabe, FEPS-TASC Researcher – Just Transition and author of the study (confirmed)

Check the programme

Register here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.